I had the honor of interviewing actress, dancer, and author Laura Bottrell, check out her work

Me: So my first question is, for those not familiar with you, tell us some about you and your career/projects
LB: Well, I’m pretty multi-faceted. I grew up always being an entertainer, I love acting, dancing, and singing. I trained in these areas for many years, starting a professional acting career at 16 on the TV show, “Freaks and Geeks”.

At eighteen, I got really into ballroom dancing and owned my own studio by the age of twenty one, being at the time, the youngest franchisee in the company’s 100 year history. I traveled the country competing professionally and loved it. Later, I went back to acting and appeared on some TV shows including ” Huff”, “Nightshift”, as well as a series regular role on “What Goes On” for the N network, and the movie “The 40 year old Virgin”. I also produced and starred in John Patrick Shanley’s.
“Savage in Limbo”.

After taking a break from acting, I was asked to run the 13x national champion’s dance studio, and received many top awards for studio improvement and sales. I also traveled to motivationally speak and train others.

Later, I moved back to the town I graduated from, and opened a studio on the northern California coast and it became wonderfully popular.

About two months ago, my husband and I decided to move to Hawaii, where we have always wanted to live. My husband being a resident for seven years previously. I’m now focused on completing my first self-improvement book, using my tumultuous past and family history as a way to help others find their happiness within, no matter what’s happened in their past too.

Me: So since retiring from acting, owning dance studios has the biggest thing for you?
LB: Yes. I also got into a cool business with my Dad. We took an old Schoolhouse he had renovated into a beautiful mansion that I grew up in, and turned it into a place where people had weddings and large parties, it was quite an adventure and fun to work with family.

Me: A wedding/party place and dance studios?, sound like a young entrepreneur!
LB: Yes, certainly. I love entertainment,  I however, also have a knack for starting businesses. My Grandfather, who recently passed away, used to call me his “little entrepreneur”.

Me: Awesome!, and you mentioned a book?, and a bad past?
LB: I grew up in Los Angeles, but my family moved to northern California when I was fifteen. My dad is a record producer, and throughout his life, worked with some of the best; Michael Jackson, Tom Petty, Sheryl Crow, Seal, Madonna, just to name a few. He wanted to live away from the lights of  Hollywood, so bought the Schoolhouse I had mentioned before and renovated it for a place for us to live. The first day my family got there, my little eight year old brother was mysteriously killed, thrown from the top of a large cliff. My family fell completely apart, parents divorcing within the year and moving on to other relationships, and I spent the next three years raising myself alone at the house. Although, I did fill this gigantic place will all my friends, and they took good care of me. The next fifteen or so years, I spent trying to find myself, sometimes succeeding, and often failing too. Especially after my cousin, whom was much more like a brother, also passed away at twenty four. He was the closest person to me in my life, so his death sent me into a tail spin of sadness and rage for many years.

Over those years though, I learned a lot about surviving tragedy, and finding the peace that everyone deserves. Finding happiness, regardless of our outer circumstances. While I’m certainly not perfect, I feel I have a lot to offer people in this area. That’s where the book comes in. It’s coming along really well at this point.

Me: Sorry to hear about your losses, when will the book be out?, and why self-help instead of a somewhat fiction book?
LB: Thank you. I’ve learned to be grateful for the events in my life, as they shaped me to be who I am. I always follow my heart, and right now, I feel compelled to write this book, so I can help other people, and continue to learn more about life myself. As far as my story goes, I have a possible opportunity for it to be written for film or television, lightly based on true events, and that’s even more exciting for me than writing a fictional novel because I to would like to remain a part of the film industry. Not sure about the release for the book, I have to finish it first!

Me: Well we definitely look forward to it!, you’re wanting to return to acting?
LB: Yes, I’d like to return to acting. It’s definitely a large part of who I am. I just have so many other things I’d like to do as well, hopefully there’s time for everything!

Me: Well we definitely hope to see you return!, what are your current/upcoming projects?, other than the book
LB: Thanks!, I’m mostly just utilizing my time right now to relax, and recover, and take care of myself. Soon, I’d like to see my story be made, and have that be successful. I’d also like to travel, there’s so many places I wish to see. I also don’t feel complete in my competitive dancing yet. So a lot to work on!

Me: What are some of your dancing accomplishments?
LB: I’ve placed 2nd in the future champions division at several competitions including World Dance O Rama, Las Vegas, The Unique Dance O Rama, Irvine, 3rd at the Jamlando Competition, Florida, 1st in the Open Salsa competition in Banff, Canada, 2nd at the Cactus Classic in Arizona, to name a few.

Me: Definitely awesome!, was there alot of competitors?
LB: It depends. Some were larger competitions, some were smaller. On average, there were a few dozen competitors. 

Me: Pretty great placing!, so what all can we expect from you in the future?, you mentioned returning to acting
LB: I would like to return to acting, both on stage and on film. I’m not sure exactly when it will happen, especially since I’m living in Hawaii now. I’d like to see myself back on the big screen in the next 2-3 years though. I may just have to write myself a part. I’ve always had a goal to be on Broadway, utilizing my acting, singing, and dancing abilities in one place. I love stage acting, but I also love the art of film making too. We’ll have to see what happens, I may start traveling between here and California to get my feet back in the water and see what’s going on in Hollywood. It’s been quite a few years, but I do miss it.

Me: Well we definitely look forward to it!, do you have any of your old connections?
LB: You know, a lot has changed in the industry since I last was involved. My old manager has stopped managing clients, and I’m too old now for my first agency that represented me. I’d probably have to start somewhat from scratch, but that doesn’t scare me. Usually, when I have my mind set on something, there’s not much that can get in my way.

I know one thing is for sure though, no more topless scenes!, I had to take somewhat of a break, because once you do nudity, you are put in a certain category in Hollywood and it was going to be hard to get out of that category. So the break was much needed, and I know now I need to avoid those roles, even if they are on great projects or with great actors.

Me: I see, well we definitely look forward to your return!, there anything else your fans would want to know?
LB: I think that pretty well sums it up. Mostly, that you haven’t seen the end of me. I’ll be making a comeback bigger and better than ever, so stay tuned. Most importantly, I appreciate all the love, support, and encouragement I’ve received over the years, even wonderful comments a decade and a half after my first gig. It’s a treasure to know people love the work I’ve done and still take time out of their day to let me know. I hope to do some really great things here in the near future and I’m beyond excited to share in the journey with my fans. Sending everyone tons of love and positivity, and like I said, stay tuned!

Me: Thank you so much for the interview!
LB: Thanks again for the great interview, and helping to share my life experience and story and turn the bad into something positive.

