I had the honor of interviewing author Illyria Brant, keep an eye out for her upcoming book and website-

Me: So my first question is, for those that aren’t familiar with you, tell us something about you and your books.
IB: I’m an English Teacher living in New York City. I’ve been in love with the written word since I was a child. I enjoy reading everything from the classics such as “Jane Eyre,” all of Shakespeare’s plays, YA fiction such as “Harry Potter” and “Twilight,” and also enjoy reading romance novels. I dabble in writing multi-genre works of fiction, but Romance is my forte! Although I have been writing since I was in Junior High, it is only now that I have decided to make my dream of publishing come true. “Love’s Siren Call (Book 1)” is my debut romance novel, and I am very proud of it. My main character is a strong and independent female who struggles with her own insecurities, while trying to make it in the legal profession. Will she be able to overcome her own insecurities and find love? Will she be able to make it in the dog-eat-dog world of law and politics? Stay tuned to find out! 

In terms of writing, I want my readers to love my characters just as much as I do, so I always create characters that are “real”. My readers are able to identify with my characters on many levels, and that is a beautiful thing! 

Me: Awesome!, how do you differ from similar authors?, and how is your book doing?
IB: Love’s Siren Call (Book 1)” is my debut novel. It has not been released yet, but is set to release in 2016. I will be giving my readers updates as the release date nears via Facebook and my Twitter account. My book differs from similar authors in the sense that I  ground my plot and characters in reality. I’ve read some romance novels in my time, that had many sex scenes, and yet the plot was very unrealistic. When a reader can not identify with the characters in a book, or the plot seems too unrealistic, the reader does not get invested in it. I want my readers to love my characters as much as I do, so I make my characters, and the plot realistic so that my readers can identify with it. Any woman out there could be going through the very same insecurities that my main character battles in her search for love, while struggling to obtain her dream job! My novel is the perfect blend of drama and romance that will leave you on the edge of your seat wanting to know what happens next!

Me: So it will be realistic, as others aren’t?
IB: Of course there are other romance novels that are realistic, and then there are some that are not. Some have unrealistic plots and characters. I’m not attacking any other author’s writing. Simply stating that I try my best to make my characters relatable.

Me: I see, so you’re debut novel is coming in a few months, do you have any poems or short stories for people to read in the mean time?
IB: I do have plenty of poetry and short stories that I have written throughout the recent years. I am aiming to set up a website for myself, and will be posting some of my poetry and short stories on there soon. 

Me: Well we definitely look forward to the website and reading the poems and short stories!, when will that be done?
IB: I’m going to have an author website and blog up within the next month hopefully! That will be a great way for my readers to follow my writing.

Me: I definitely look forward to reading something you wrote!, so other than your website and book, do you have any current or upcoming projects?
IB: Other than working on creating my author website, now that Book 1 of “Love’s Siren Call” is finished, I am getting straight to work on writing Book 2. “Love’s Siren Call” is a Series! Readers always want more, and I am happy to give them more! Aside from that, I am brain-storming idea’s and thinking of writing a spin-off novel revolving around my main character’s best friend (From Love’s Siren Call). I think my readers will be wondering what happens to her best friend! 

Me: Awesome!, how many books will be in the series?
IB: “Love’s Siren Call” will be a 3 book series. Once the series is complete, I want to start a series of books that revolve around a family. Kind of like Bella Andre’s “Sullivan” series. 

Me: Sullivan series?
IB: Yes, Bella Andre, a well-known and best-selling romance novelist that has written an entire “mini-series” of books titled “The Sullivan Series” is one of my inspirations. I’ve spoken with her on Facebook and Twitter several times when I was just starting out in writing my first novel, and her advice to me was to write what I love, and the rest would fall into place! She’s down-to-earth and such a nice person. In Bella Andre’s “Sullivan Series” each member of “the Sullivan family will eventually find true love…usually where he or she least expects.”

This gave me inspiration to create a mini-series of my own, revolving around the secondary characters in MY novel. As an avid reader myself, I know how much readers and fans look forward to series books. It gives us something to look forward to in the future!

Me: I see, that’s awesome!, that will be your project after LSC?
IB: Thank you! Yes, that is my aim after my “Love’s Siren Call” series. To create a mini-series for my readers to follow and enjoy!

Me: Awesome!, what else can we expect from you in the future?
IB: I plan to continue interacting with my readers and followers on my social media such as Facebook and Twitter. My readers are important to me. Aside from that, I will continue working on my “Love’s Siren Call” series, followed by my mini-series of romance novels, and also aim to eventually have some book signings here in NYC. Barnes and Noble would be my first choice. I will also be creating an official website, and blog for my readers to follow. This is just the beginning! 

Me: Definitely alot to look forward to!, anything else your fans would be interested in knowing?
IB: Yes indeed; Random “fun fact” that my fans would be interested in knowing about me: I was named after a mythical and mysterious land called “Illyria” in Shakespeare’s play “Twelfth Night”. 

I love animals. I have 3 pet parrots. I’m an avid reader, and enjoy reading books from many different genre’s. I particularly enjoy reading fantasy novels such as: Twilight, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, The Merlin saga, etc. However, my favorite genre is romance! I’m a sucker for a happy ending! On my down time, between being an English Teacher and Writer, I enjoy watching romantic comedies, and action movies. Martial arts movies, and boxing movies are the best. I’m a huge fan of the classic “Rocky” movie series. 

Me: Named after Shakespeare? you were born with writing in your blood!,lol
IB: Lol, absolutely!, I was destined to be a writer, with Shakespeare running through my veins!

Me: Thank you so much for this interview!
IB: You’re very welcome. I enjoyed the interview as well!

