I had the honor of interviewing TLH ministries founder, skater, and musician
Joshua Teichroew, check out his ministry and projects-

Me: So my first question is, for those that aren’t familiar with you, tell us some about you and your ministry
JT: Well my name is Joshua Teichroew and growing up I struggled with my faith. I struggled with depression/suicide. I did a lot of drugs throughout high school and was headed down a path of death. Summer of 2010, at a church camp I attended, I gave my life back to Christ. In the fall of 2011, God called me to start TLHMinistries. This ministry is more than me just selling some Jesus T-shirts or me trying to make a quick buck. I’ve been active in the heavy music scene and skateboarding for my entire life and I’ve seen the lack of Christ in it. This ministry is me trying to reach out to those that the church or many others cannot reach out to. I am really just a dude that wants to share the love of Christ to those who haven’t heard it or ever experienced it and this is my way of doing so. I believe God has called me to be a light in this scene

Me: Awesome!, so heavy music and skateboarding are a big part of this ministry, you have a background in those?
JT: Yeah, I grew up skating and playing in different bands. I still skate and play music, not as much as I used to, but they will both always be a big part of my life. I did a Hardcore/Punk project a few years ago called StoopKids, and the skate videos are two friends of mine that help me out. The music on the page is from bands I’ve sponsored and worked with in the past and currently.

Me: Awesome!, so you started in 2011, what did that process look like?
JT: I started off earlier that year trying to put together a small record label to help bands get started on their careers as musicians, and when that didn’t work out all that well, God really start calling me to start this ministry. I started it not really sure what God was going to do with it. I know that I was supposed to stay involved with the heavier music scene and skateboarding. I started out just promoting Christian bands and putting together compilation records. It wasn’t til February of 2013 when I started doing merchandise & using that as another way to share Christ.

Me: Now, that you’ve established a ministry, is trying to start a record label again an option?
JT: Not really sure yet. I haven’t thought much about it. Right now, it’s not really something I want to do. I think I’m better off just sticking with the ministry and booking shows and helping bands tour, but who knows, maybe one day.

Me: Awesome!, so you have shows, what do they look like?, and is it local or touring?
JT: It’s all different. I started helping my friend Joe Ramsey start up Cold Truth Booking a few years ago. We did our first show in a garage. Lately, the shows have been doing better and having more people attend, but we also have shows that get 10 people. We do touring and local(Tennessee). We try to help anyone we can. Right now, we only have local shows lined up. I haven’t done much touring or booking tours since last year, hopefully that will change next year.

Me: Awesome!, how can people invest in this ministry?
JT: You can pick up some of our merchandise from our online store. Our store link is http://www.tlhministriesstore.storenvy.com

Me: Definitely worth checking out to support a great ministry!, what else is going on with you and your ministry?
JT: At the moment, not a whole lot. Right now, I am working on new designs and getting some new stuff printed. Also, I‘m trying to get back into booking shows again after taking about a year off from it. I’m actually talking to a church a little south of me about doing shows and different events there, and as far as myself, I’ve been doing a lot of reading and studying(I actually just finished “Jesus Swagger” by Jarrid Wilson today and started “Awakening” by Matt Brown). I’ve been trying to read different books, blogs and anything else, so I can apply it to this ministry for future things, such as preaching, talking to kids at the shows I book, or even just apply it to my everyday life. I have also been learning how to draw traditional tattoo styled art in hopes to use it for different merchandise in the future. I also recently joined a bible study one of my old youth pastors got started up when he moved back to Chattanooga, I’ve been involved with that for the past couple months now and it’s pretty awesome. So yeah, I’m not really doing a whole lot right now. I’ve kind of taken a break from skating too, so I can focus more on this ministry and my relationship with Christ.

Me: Awesome!, are you going to start skating or doing music again when you get shows going?
JT: Of course!, skateboarding and music will always be a big part of my life. I’ll be skating until my body physically will not let me anymore. You probably won’t catch me doing much filming anymore, unless it’s of a friend, but I will still be skating. As music goes, I still play my guitar for a little while everyday and jam around with different people, and if something happens, it happens, but I’m not going to be really trying to make it happen. I just don’t feel like that is where God wants me right now.  

Me: I see, so what can we expect from you and your ministry in the future?
JT: You can definitely expect some new merchandise items. I can’t really discuss any of the ideas right now, but hopefully it’ll all turn out well. Also, next year, we are hoping to do shows at least once a month or more and do a few tours, if possible. Other than that, I’m still planning/praying about what all will be happening for the future. Really praying that this ministry can reach out to a lot more people next year. 

Me: Well we definitely look forward to seeing what the future brings and will keep you in our prayers!, thank you so much for this interview!
JT: Thank you for the opportunity!, if you ever want to do another, or a video or phone interview, let me know!

