I had the honor of interviewing actor Wayne Burns, check out Olympus and his other projects-

Me: So my first question is, for those that aren’t familiar with you, tell us about you and your acting
WB: I was born in Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada, and am a theatre, film and television actor, a trained singer and an emerging creator. 

I’m a graduate of the prestigious National Theatre School of Canada where I had the pleasure of working with some of the most reputable artists in the country such as Yaël Farber, David Latham, László Marton, Paul Gross, Weyni Mengesha, Ravi Jain and Nina Lee Aquino, to name a few. 

I made my screen debut in Jason Buxton’s multi-award-winning film Blackbird (2012) opposite Connor Jessup (Falling Skies) and Alex Ozerov (What We Have, Orphan Black). The following year, I acted along side the late Cory Montieth (Glee) in Gia Milani’s All the Wrong Reasons (2013). 

Some of my theatre works include: originating the role of Dane Timbrell in David S. Craig’s, Dora nominated, Tough Case (Left Foot First Productions) and Arthur in Paul LeDoux’s Merlin (Halifax Theatre for Young People). I’ve  also written a one-man show, LIONESS, which debuted to a sold out audience in Halifax, Nova Scotia, at the 2013 Soloicious Festival. 

I’m the recipient of two Theatre Nova Scotia Awards (2011 & 2012) and was nominated for Best Actor in a Short Film for my performance in Jeremy Webb’s Bone Deep (2014) at the ACTRA Maritime Awards.

You can catch me regularly as Lykos, the Prince of Athens, in the new SyFy original series Olympus (2015) playing alongside Tom York, Sonya Cassidy, Sonita Henry, Matt Frewer and Graham Shiels airing on SyFy and Spike UK, respectively.

Coming up next, the expansion of my solo-show, LIONESS, which will be premiering in early 2016. 

Me: So you’re expanding lioness, what’s going to be new about it?
WB: I’m currently in the process of expanding it from a 15 minute show to a full length 45-60 minute show. The story will still be the same with more attention to fleshing out the characters and adding some more complications. It’s still early days so I’m being glib as to not cement any one plot. 

Me: Well we definitely look forward to that!, why the extension?
WB: I’ve been wanting to explore the character more, the relationships, how far I can push myself as a performer, and also whether I can create and tour a piece that I’m proud of. You know? 

Me: I know how that is!, you’ll be touring that while not filming Olympus?
WB: Olympus is all over for now, there is no word on whether we are being renewed…or cancelled… so until then, I’m gonna stay busy making things that inspire me. 

Me: I definitely hope it’s renewed!, so you’ve been in TV, shorts, and theater, will we be able to see you as a lead in a feature?
WB: Me too! I’ve actually been in two feature films, in more or less supporting roles: Blackbird (2012), by Jason Buxton and All the Wrong Reasons (2013) by Gia Milani. 

Not sure when the next feature film will be, but I’m currently shooting a guest star role on the hit CBC series, Murdoch Mysteries. 

Me: So what else can we expect from you in the future?
WB: There is no way for me to tell the future, as I’m still trying to figure out what makes me happiest; which facet of performance I’m most motivated/intrigued by. 

I have an incredible support system behind me, so the next step forward is getting my personal endeavors into the public eye and assessing from there! 

Me: Also depends on if Olympus is renewed?
WB: Certainly, but even if Olympus goes down as a single season story it was an incredible opportunity for me to experience lovely and talented artists, explore a dynamic character with a massive arch over 11 episodes and begin to hone my craft as a screen performer. 

Frankly, there is no loss in career trajectory for me if we aren’t renewed, the fact that I have a season under my belt, at this age(24), is already a great leaping off point. 

Onwards and upwards! 

Conversely, this quote has been resonating with me, “I am more than my next project.” – Aaron Taylor-Johnson 

Me: You have accomplished alot in your young age!, what are your proudest accomplishments?
WB: Thank you! 

My proudest accomplishments are: 

Graduating from the National Theater School of Canada, where I was one of 12 chosen to attend the acting program. 

My independence, I support myself entirely and have been living on my own for coming up on 6 years. 

My family and the healthy relationships I have with them. 

My artistic integrity, or the development of it. 

Me: Your life seems to be made up of alot of components, so we’ve talked about everything but your singing, you’re classically trained, can we ever expect a CD from you?
WB: Isn’t everyone’s?, I am classically trained, majority of my work pre-theater school was musical theater. So that’s where a lot of my voice training came from, I’ve also been working with an incredible voice teacher here in Toronto, Susan Cuthbert. 

I would love to record an album or EP but that’s more of a fantasy. Who knows what will happen, I’m open to trying everything. 

Me: Well we definitely look forward to seeing what will happen!, is there anything else your fans would be interested in?
WB: I suppose the best thing for my fans to do would be to like my fan page on Facebook or follow me on their desired social media platforms to find out what I’m up to.

All the links to my work and social media profiles are included on my website(wayneburns.ca), which I do my best to keep up to date. 

Me: Awesome!, thank you so much for this interview!
WB: Thank you Bryan! It’s been really wonderful to chat.

