I had the honor of interviewing comedian and actor Sal Calanni, check out his latest projects!

Me: So my first question is, for those that aren’t familiar with your comedy, how would you describe it?
SC: That’s the audience’s job to describe it.  I don’t know how to describe myself, I just do me and hope you laugh.  People have had their own descriptions of me, http://www.salcalanni.com/press.html, but the best way to find out, people should watch on their own and decide, and then tell me because I’m curious.

Me: So you made a short film called Lucifer’s crewcut, tell us about that
SC: Lucifer’s Crewcut is a film about the rise and fall of a death metal barbershop quartet. I acted in it, co-wrote it, and co-produced it. Also in the film is the talented Maria Bamford, Robert Selander, Geordie Martinez, Ian McVey, Omied Far, Jello Biafra, Arj Barker, and (Dave Brockie)Oderus Urungus from GWAR who has since passed away, R.I.P. It was directed by Jason Mitchell and Robert Selander. And Stacey Ransom was responsible for all the awesome sets.

Me: And that and your comedy can be found on your site and YouTube
SC: Yea, salcalanni.com and here’s the film on Maria’s page, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPtGBXLUJrU

Me: Awesome!, so what are your current/most recent projects?, comedy special or tour?
SC: My girlfriend (who is also a comedian) and I started a video channel called Taking Liberties on Youtube.  This is our first sketch, an Orange is the New Black parody, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s9OVDP1oCrY

I was in New York city checking out the comedy scene and doing sets for the week.  I performed last week, Tuesday July 28th at the Throckmorton theater in Mill Valley and I’ll be back in San Francisco at Cobb’s Comedy Club Sept. 17-19th.

Me: You’re from California?, how’s the comedy scene there compared to New York?
SC: No I’m from Cleveland
http://www.salcalanni.com/bio.html
Live in SF. Moving to LA. Can’t really give a summation of the NY scene because I only visited for the week. I’ve done a few mics and shows, it’s fun, but the scene is much larger, more comics, less time. A film I’m in, The Purple Onion will be premiered in NY last Saturday.

Me: I see, so tell us about your new movie and your role in it
SC: I’m barely in the movie, but I haven’t seen it yet. I play a waiter, something I played in the award winning film Interview Date. There must be Something about me that says, hey that guy looks good at bringing people food.

Me: At least you have that part down!, so what else can we expect from you in the future?
SC: I’ll be moving to L.A. this month, and just keep hustling in stand up and acting.  We’ll make some more sketches under Taking Liberties, 

I’ll keep doing my podcast 
http://salandangelo.libsyn.com
and whatever I can do, but this reminds me of my latest favorite quote from Al Swearengen of Deadwood(TV), 
“Announcing your plans is a good way to hear God laugh.”

Me: You mentioned God, so I have to ask, from reading my blog, you can tell I’m a Christian, what are your views and how do they affect your work?
SC: Well I mentioned Al Swearengen mentioned God. I’m like Han Solo, I’ve traveled all across the galaxy, I don’t know what the answer is kid. I like making fun of the ignorance of people though, and I have some bits on religion on my first album, https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/real-job-real-paycheck/id408548496

Me: So agnostic?, but religion has came up in your comedy?
SC: I don’t know what the label is, I just know as much as the next guy.

Of course religion comes up in my comedy, it’s fascinating, you see it everyday.  People plug it into every part of life from politics to diets to lifestyles to war. Sometimes you gotta comment on that.

Me: Religion and politics?, thought those 2 topics were usually off limits!, lol
SC: If you can make people laugh at what they aren’t suppose to, then you are truly achieving the art of stand up.

Me: What other boundaries, or whatever you want to call it, has your comedy crossed?
SC: Race. I always liked talking about race. Not hacky stereotype jokes but good observations with twists and turns and good points. I grew up in Cleveland, one of the most segregated cities in the U.S. every year. I grew up on the white west side but then worked downtown at the ballpark for four years where at times I would be the only white guy. I learned a lot from that experience, it was a clashing of worlds, and I found a lot of funny experiences from that. And it’s tough sometimes now to talk about race on a comedy stage cuz so much is going on in the news it’s like we are regressing as a country.

Me: Has what’s happened recently involving race changed the way you do comedy?
SC: It hasn’t changed the way I do comedy but if there was a shooting I might not be talking about race jokes that night

Me: I see what you mean, thank you so much for this interview!
SC: You’re welcome, thank you!

