I had the honor of interviewing a brand new musical artist by the name of Semaj, check him out-

Me: So my first question is, for those that aren’t familiar with you, how would you describe your music?
S: I don’t classify my music as gospel… I classify it as its own genre which I call,”MAJ” music, which stands for Music After Jesus. I feel that as long as you put God first and you show that in your music, there is no need to fall underneath the name,”Gospel”. It limits you. My music is just inspirational, feel good music. 

Me: So you’re a Christian and Jesus is at the forefront of your music?
S: Yes sir He is! But all of my music isn’t strictly about Jesus. Some are about problems in the world, some may even be about love. I write from the heart. 

Me: So you just had your first song released on YouTube, tell us about that
S: The video I posted is a cover of Stevie Wonders ,”knocks me off my feet”. My new single,” Like You Do ” is being mixed right now. It should be up by next week.

Me: Well we definitely look forward to those!, is there a CD coming?, what can we expect from that?
S: Yes an album is in the works right now actually. I’m trying to build my fan base by putting my single out and I also have many others that I know people would love! Thing about my music is… It’s different. It’s never the same. I try to incorporate many different elements into my music.

Me: What all “elements” can we expect from it?
S: Well I’m inspired by many different artists. Some of my songs may have an Erykah Badu, Neo Soul type vibe. While others, may just sound like mainstream pop songs! And of course I’m going to incorporate worship into my album… Can’t be upbeat all of the time. My songs will have many different styles.

Me: Will you have the same vibe as other Christian artists like Kirk Franklin or Donnie Mclurkin?
S: Some of my songs will sound similar to their styles, but they will not have the same vibe. I believe my music has its own style, and that it will change the gospel industry all together. 

Me: “It will change the gospel industry”?
S: Yes. You see, often times we have a certain “sound” we expect from gospel/Christian artists. That goes back to why I call my music,”MAJ” music. There is no particular sound of worship. Worship is worship. One of my biggest inspirations is Tonex, because his sound was genuine and unique. It was his own. He broke down many barriers in the gospel world. I try my best walk in his footsteps.

Me: Who else are big inspirations for you?
S: There’s so many! As I said Tonex is a huge inspiration. Also Deitrick Haddon, Michael Jackson, Mahalia Jackson, Tina Campbell, Jor’Dan Armstrong, even Beyoncé! They all inspire me.

Me: So what can we expect from you in the future?, any touring?
S: Wow, that’s a big one. Right now I’m just starting off, and being only 16, it’s hard for some people to take me serious. But this has been a dream of mine since I was little, and now that I’m actually doing what I’ve always wanted to do, so I plan on taking it one step at a time. Right now my goal is to build my fan base, and get my music out there. I’m working on my album now, and I’m probably going to start performing around my area for now. In the future? I’m going to tour. I’m confident because I know I have what it takes. 

Me: Well we definitely look forward to seeing what happens!, thank you so much for this interview!
S: Thank You For This Opportunity! 

