I had the honor of interviewing, Dale Vaughn, the vocalist for as we are, please check out their upcoming EP-

Me: So my first question is, for those that aren’t familiar with you, how would you describe your music?
DV:  I would say it is very uplifting in nature we like to say inspirational.  The songs are full of vocal and musical hooks we feel keep them interesting and gets them stuck in your head.  I’ve always said it doesn’t matter how much you hate a song as long as you find yourself singing the song as a result of it being stuck in your head.  Mission accomplished.

Me: Awesome!, and lyrically?,  what inspires you?
DV: Lyrically it honestly depends on my train of thought at the moment. They guys write the music and I’m always jotting down lyrics. My main focus honestly is not being complacent. I believe we should all be living for something and living to make a change and influence our environment. I would say just life experience combined with my thought processes at the moment really influence my lyrics. Its my way of speaking what is on my mind I guess. I also use the lyrics as encouragement for myself. Its interesting to find how often they speak prophetically into my own personal life.

Me: “We should all be living for something and living to make a change”, what do you live for?,and what kind of change do you want to make?
DV: I want to invoke the thought that we are responsible.  The world in which we live we have created.  There is such distress and upheaval in every part of our world and no one wants to own up.  Everyone wants to point fingers and place blame.  I just hope that lyrically I can say hey yes things are a mess but the only way things are going to change is if we move and do something.  People need to know they are empowered to make a difference.  If you don’t like your situation change it.  Do not be a prisoner of your circumstances.  I fight this in my own personal life so I’m not just preaching to the choir.  I believe it begins with reaching out to people with no agenda in mind.  Just saying hey we are in this together and finding a way to bridge the gaps and become unified.  My belief is the Kingdom of God is achieved in such a manner.  But until we move in that direction things will continue to unravel.

Me: I usually save this question for the end, but you brought it up, from reading my blog, you can tell I’m a Christian, you’re a Christian?, and that affects your lyrics?
DV: Our band are all followers of Christ. We do our best to represent His life the best that we can. The whole sphere of Christianity has been “tainted” in my opinion. Instead of love there is judging. Instead of acceptance there is do it our way etc. I think this is common knowledge because you hear people talk about it all the time. Again in a prison of circumstance. Does if affect my writing yes it does. I want to send a message that Christ would want to send. That is come. Nothing more, just come. All who are hungry, eat, all who are thirsty, drink. I will stand up for you when no one else will. I will give you the courage and knowledge to make a difference. Just come. No agenda, no condemnation, just love.

Me: Awesome brother!, so what are your latest/upcoming projects?
DV: As far as projects, we head out next Saturday for 2 months, playing festivals and being a part of a tour called the Extreme Tour. It’s a door that opened for us. It’s a scaled down Warped Tour if I could compare it. However it is all grass roots and DIY. We are scheduled to start a full length record with Travis Wyrick in November and our latest EP releases Aug 1. Although we have the physical copies already at our shows so everyone come to a show and get one. It’ll be available online after August first. We have a fundraising campaign going as well while we are out. People do not seem to realize just because we are on the road that our home lives continue as well. We are a DIY band with no funding other than our own pockets. No labels, financial backers, no nothing. The fact that we are able to do what we do like we do is a miracle in itself. We are doing things that only represented bands usually do. If anyone feels led to give into what we are doing please do. Here is the link to do so:  http://www.gofundme.com/ya5ae4?fb_action_ids=10203227607690242&fb_action_types=og.shares&fb_source=other_multiline&action_object_map=%5B871960452878935%5D&action_type_map=%5B%22og.shares%22%5D&action_ref_map=%5B%5D

Me: How will your CD differ from your EP?, and why gofundme instead of Kickstarter or Indiegogo?
DV: We chose GoFundMe because it’s like a general fund. All money goes to the organization, no strings attached. We can keep it going indefinitely as well. There are no time constraints. The full length will be somewhat different I’m sure. You always want to evolve but want to stay true to your roots. I think the full length will be more in depth lyrically as far as being personal. I’m stoked for a song that’s going on it called “The Martyrs Cry”.  It deals with our brothers dying for what they believe and for their faith. I’m super stoked for it. It’s more of a punk rock vibe which seems to come along with the revolution mentality which is definitely where we are.

Me: Well that’s always good!, is there going to be a tour with your CD too?
DV: That is what we have been doing all summer. Our last date is in October. We record the end of November. We are scheduling a tour for January. Then things pick up again in April/May.

Me: Hopefully your CD will be done in January!, so the majority of the year is spent touring
DV: Well we tour all summer to date. However it looks like next year is shaping up a bit differently. Each year seems to get busier. Our goal is for 2017 to be all systems go. Could it happen sooner, by all means. We works jobs when we are home so we can save and do whatever we need to for the next year. As for when the full length will be done, I’m not sure. It will be recorded but there is a lot to be done before its release.

Me: I see, so other than more touring and releases, what else can we expect from you in the future?
DV: I’m not sure. I mean music is what we do. I’m sure it will open other opportunities but those have yet to come about. So yes, touring and writing and hopefully making an impact.

Me: Awesome!, well we definitely look forward to what the future brings!, thank you so much for this interview!
DV: Thanks so much for the opportunity.  I hope everyone enjoys it.

