I had the honor of interviewing country singer and poet, Brian Lee Robinson, look forward to his upcoming CD and book-

Me: So first question, for those that aren’t familiar with your music, how would you describe it?
BLR: Well, there is no doubt that I am country. I like to tell stories with my songs. I like to rock out a little. I like to leave a little to the imagination of the listener. I say I am country but my music collection contains Rock, Reggae, blues, R&B. I even like some rap songs. I have been compared to Johnny Cash a lot, and I hear it every now and then when I listen to my songs. I don’t try to sound like him, that’s just how I sound. I am a huge Johnny Cash fan, so I consider it a compliment.

Me: So Johnny Cash is a huge influence on you and your music?, who else has influenced you?
BLR: I grew up on Hank Williams, Sr. Bill Anderson, Jack Greene, The Wilburn Brothers. When I was with my dad, we would go every Saturday night to Aunt Ida’s house, she had a TV. Saturday nights the broadcast a lot of country music shows, Porter and Dolly, The Wilburn Bros, Billy Walker. My dad loved Willie Nelson. My dad was a songwriter, who died when I was very young. I used to look at all of his lyrics books over and over while I was Growing up.  But, I didn’t start writing songs till much later. By then it was Alabama, Hank Williams, Jr. Willie and Waylon and David Allen Coe, and of course, Johnny Cash.

Me: Your dad was a songwriter and that influenced your songwriter, who did he write for?
BLR: I don’t know if he influenced my writing because he died do early, but maybe reading his songbooks gave me a lyrical mind. He had a hit on Hank Thompson back in the late 50’s, and a lot of small cuts. I believe he could have been a big songwriter if he had gone to Nashville. But, he was a bad alcoholic and I guess was scared to go by himself.

Me: Sorry to hear, so what’s your latest project?
BLR: I have a 5 song EP in the works. I have all the tracks. I just need to re-sing a couple of songs. Then get it mixed and mastered.
I am excited about it. I have some interesting new songs.

Me: “Interesting songs”?
BLR: I write a lot of crazy and weird songs that never make it to the studio. One day I will put out a CD with just those crazy songs. I also realized, when Sturgill Simpson was getting a lot of attention for Turtles All The Way Down (which I loved) that I write a lot of Metaphysical songs as well. Listen to “Different Shades of Gray” It’s about how your reality or you perception of something is different than mine. We all live in our own little world, and we all perceive things based on our own experiences in the past. One song in the new CD is “Beauty or Illusion”, you can see it on my YouTube Channel, https://www.youtube.com/user/BrianLRobinsonSongs, is about just that. It has a line that says “Just be open to the notion that the truth to you, is someone else’s lie”. So, some of the songs are not going to be your usual country songs.

Me: So it goes into the psychology of thought?
BLR: I guess you could say that. It’s what makes you, you, and me, me. A while back I was taking classes called “A Course in Miracles”
Einstein even said “Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one” The course talks about reality being an illusion, because your reality is very different from my reality. I wrote a poem called “The Beauty of the Illusion”, which eventually became the song  In the poem I wrote, “In your search for reality, don’t miss out on the beauty of the illusion.” It’s all about living in the moment. Life is about the journey, not the destination. Anyway, I guess my mind is a little twisted.

Me: So reality is just an illusion?
BLR: I don’t know, what do you think? It seems pretty real to me. I definitely know there are different perceptions of reality. There’s my wife’s way, and then there’s the wrong way. Lol

Me: Depends on how crazy we are!, lol, so other than new music, what can we expect from you in the future?
BLR: Probably a book of poetry and a autobiography. I am looking for a co-writer for the autobiography. I don’t know how to write a book. I have been writing down stories as they come to me. We did some crazy shit back in my teenage years through the Nashville years.

Me: And can any of your current poetry be found online?
BLR: I put a book of poetry out about 10 years ago. It was very cheaply done, by a bad publisher. I was ashamed of it. I wound up buying the rights back from the publisher and taking it off the market.

Me: We going to get to see some of the old poems in your upcoming poem book?
BLR: Yes, I will include the best of the old poems, as well.

Me: Well we definitely look forward to that!, so one last question, from reading my blog, you can tell I’m a Christian, what are your spiritual views and how do they affect your music?
BLR: I consider myself a Christian. I believe in god and Jesus. But, I also believe that there are many paths to the same destination. If you live a good life, you will go to heaven. Christians, Jews, Islamic, everyone. I went to an Islamic service one day, and if I hadn’t known I was at a Mosque, I would’ve thought I was at a Christian service. They talked about god, love, peace, and forgiveness. I cannot believe god would send people to hell just because they were born in another part of the world. How does that affect my music, I don’t know that it does. I have written a few Gospel songs. When it come to writing songs, I usually stick to the truth, as I see it. I don’t try to write about something that I don’t know or have a personal feel for. If I can’t feel it, with my hands or my heart, I don’t write it. Most of my songs come from my life. I have plenty of material because I have lived a wonderful, crazy, funny, humiliating, sad, tragic, and unusual life. It’s a wonder I am still alive, but I am. I plan to continue to write and sing the truth about my life, until they put me in the ground. Then, who knows what god has in store for me???

Me: I see, well thank you so much for this interview!
BLR: Thank you Bryan. I really appreciate your interest in me.

