I had the honor of interviewing the #1 UK country star on reverbnation, James Edgar, please check out his stuff

Me: So my first question is, for those not familiar with you, describe your music for us
JE: I’m a acoustic country musician. Most of the music I play is a very stripped down intimate acoustic sound. I started with covers of great modern country hits. moving on to writing my own original tracks. I’m currently in the process of witting a album.

Me: When can we expect this CD?
JE: Hopefully it will be available by the end of 2015 or very early 2016

Me: So you’ve become the #1 country artist in the UK on reverbnation, what kind of attention has that brought?
JE: Honestly I can not believe the attention it’s brought. Every day I’m receiving messages telling me how much people enjoy my music. My tracks and videos have collectively had over 2 million plays. Last year if you told me radio stations will be asking to play my tracks, I would have laughed. I’m just a normal guy with a guitar doing what I love, I honestly can’t thank everyone enough for their support. 

Me: You’re on the radio over in the UK?
JE: Yeah, I’ve had 2 of my singles “be my girl” & “goodbye song” played on BBC radio. My songs where also played on the Iceman’s bestcountryradio.com over in Nashville.

Me: Awesome!, so what are your current/most recent projects?
JE: Well I do try to record one video/song cover each week for the followers/fans. I’m also really excited as my next single “goodbye song” is set to release on August 15th. This will be available as on iTunes, spotify and most other online stores. 

Me: Thought goodbye song was already out
JE: I uploaded a video last week but won’t be available to get a copy until the 15th

Me: So what’s next?
JE: Well I plan on writing and playing as much as possible. Maybe if the demand is right I would love to tour and promote but who knows what the future holds.

Me: Well we definitely look forward to finding out!, you going to play with a full band?
JE: I do prefer the raw intimate sound of acoustic music. So if I did play with a band it would more than likely be acoustic unplugged/live lounge rather than the normal line up. maybe a acoustic bass, cajon box drum and possibly a piano too.

Me: Well we definitely look forward to what the future brings!, so my last question is, from reading my blog, you can tell I’m a Christian, what are your spiritual views and how do they affect your music?
JE: I started singing as a member of the Coventry cathedral boys choir. I spent nearly every day at the cathedral singing from the age of 8 to 14. Altho the Cathedral was a member of the Church of England I was actually baptised in a Roman Catholic Church. I also attended a Roman Catholic school where I completed all of the stages of confirming my faith. So I’m not really sure what faith or label you would like to stick on me. During my time in the choir I toured the world and visited many churches. I found the Church of England and Roman Catholics have very similar if not some of the same beliefs. My time with the choir has influenced my music as without it I probably wouldn’t have the vocal skills I have now. 

Me: I see, thank you so much for this interview!
JE: No problem. Thank you again for your interest. Honestly I can’t tell you enough how much it means to know people enjoy my music.  I’m not doing this to make money or become famous. I sing because I love to and I’m completely blown away by the support it attracted.

