I had the honor of interviewing Americana singer/songwriter Chad Shiver, please look forward to his upcoming CD-

Me: So my first question is, for those that aren’t familiar with your music, how would you describe it?
CS: I would say that my music is a mix of Nashville and Red Dirt Music. It’s a little more Americana than modern country for sure. 

Me: Awesome!, and lyrically?, what inspires you?
CS: I think that most of my lyrics have come from past relationship experiences or life experiences. For me it’s easier to write about love lost and depressing stuff. Lately though I have been in a really good place and a great relationship that I think is starting to show some in my lyrics as well. Inspiration for me comes from many different places. I try as much as I can to draw from everyday things that happen. 

Me: So is your next CD going to be more upbeat and positive?, when can we expect your next CD?
CS: I would say I am in the beginning stages of a new EP. I hope to have something out by the end of this year or beginning of next year. I think that I am going to throw a curve ball with the next EP and do something a little different than I have before. I have been listening to a lot less mainstream country and much more Americana and Rootsy music so I think that will definately be evident on the new project.

Me: So it’s going be an Americana CD instead of country again?
CS: I think that it will be two things; it will be different than anything I have done before and I think it will be something that people arent expecting to hear from me. I think it will have elements of country music and americana music. I just want it to be good music! Haha

Me: Well we definitely look forward to that!, what else is recent/upcoming?
CS: I have been writing a ton and trying to get out and play more shows. Look for more of that in the future!

Me: These new songs for your new CD?
CS: For sure. I’m always writing so the hardest part is choosing the songs that I think will work the best on the EP. 

Me: What about the ones that don’t make the cut?
CS: This an interesting question that I’ve never really thought about. The songs that don’t make the cut aren’t necessarily bad songs but they might not fit in with the theme of the albums. They could be used later or they could just be deep cuts I guess haha

Me: You still going to play any of those live?
CS: That’s always an option too. I like to try and play them all out live to see the reactions I get from people. That’s always a good indicator. 

Me: Awesome!, so we’re talking about playing live, do you have a current or upcoming tour?
CS: I have a small South Georgia run coming up: 

August 7th at The Plaza in Thomasville, Ga
August 8th at Bluewater Bar and Grill in Valdosta, Ga

Me: Well those in Georgia should definitely check you out!, so what else would interest your fans?
CS: I’m just excited to see what’s a head for me and I hope everyone will drop by my social media pages

Facebook.com/chadshivermusic

Twitter.com/chadshiver

Me: Definitely!, so one last question, from reading my blog, you can tell I’m a Christian, what are your spiritual views and how do they affect your music?
CS: I am a Christian as well. I try to make sure that my music is able to be listened to by anyone. So as to say that it’s not necessarily just party music. There are other aspects to good music than just partying.

Me: I see, thank you so much for this interview!
CS: No problem! I enjoyed doing it!

