1 corinthians 13:4-7-“4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”
       Love in it’s purest form is that God is love. Easy sounding concepts that are ridiculously hard to put in practice. Love is patient, but I’m far from patient sometimes, how am I showing love?, though it’s wrong, it is easier to voice frustrations and be impatient. Love is kind, but how am I kind when I’m putting others down or calling them names?, a stranger at Cici’s offered me a ride and gave me $2 for a drink just because I was waiting in the heat, that’s kindness in action, I wish I could live like that. Love does not dishonor others, how am I showing honor and respect when I don’t honor others wishes, their needs and wants?, love is not self-seeking, but it is easier to pursue my needs and wants, to care about what I want and seek those. Love is not easily angered, what a convicting sentence, anger is shown when expectations of others aren’t met, but others often fail us, that’s why we need grace, but I don’t show grace well.

     Love keeps no records of wrongs, but how do I forget and forgive and move on from some things?, how do I show grace?. Love always protects, but how often do I actually protect others?, my words and actions don’t protect them, they cause harm, they’re like daggers. Love always trusts, but those that know me, know that trust is one of my biggest issues, some say relationships are built on trust, but if I don’t trust anyone, who do I have a relationship with?. Finally, love always perseveres, I often want to give up on those I love, I’ve told multiple people that love me to get out of my life.

      These are my confessions, I don’t love well, I don’t understand God’s grace and love towards me, I don’t show those to others. My dad said-“You always do the right thing and you stand by and live by your Christian beliefs.”, I wish that were true, I don’t always do the right, I don’t live out my beliefs like I should, my flesh often gets in the way. I’m sorry to those I haven’t loved well, to those I’ve been impatient, unkind, disrespectful, selfish, etc to, to those I haven’t shown grace and forgiveness towards, I hope you can forgive me.

    Finally, my belief is that that passage is the way we should live. That’s the way God loves, the way Jesus lived. Not only was Jesus loving and forgiving and gracious towards us, He died so we can live this out and be with Him. That’s what I believe, but I don’t always do what’s right and live this out.

